Nominations open for 2018 Diocesan Convention

Nominations open for 2018 Diocesan Convention

Nominations are now open for eight positions that will be filled at the 2018 Convention of the Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth in Decatur, Texas, on November 9 and 10.

The Nominations Committee earnestly seeks participation from parishioners across the spectrum of our diocese.

The committee invites you to read, pray, and discern if you know someone to nominate for any of the elected positions described below. Please verify with the person you want to nominate whether they are willing to let their name stand. The deadline for online nominations is Monday, September 10, 2018, and nominations remain open for two months.

The Nominations Committee has a goal for at least two candidates per position. The committee encourages potential nominators/nominees to review the list of current elected members on the table below:

Current Elected Members

Positions to be Filled:

Executive Council

Members-at-Large of the Diocesan Executive Council – two lay and one clergy member. The Executive Council carries on the work of the Diocesan Convention during the rest of the year when the Convention is not in session. The canons passed in 2015 made changes affecting the Executive Council, including how its members are elected. Previously, all the members were elected by the deaneries. Now, one representative is elected from each deanery, and nine members are elected at-large by the convention. In 2016, the convention elected all nine at-large members at once and followed a process passed by the 2015 convention for staggering their term lengths. As a result, three of the members will be elected in 2018; members whose terms expire this year are Laura Fleming, Melinda Jo Ray, and Tony Hiatt.

Standing Committee

The Standing Committee – one lay and one clergy member. The Standing Committee, which typically meets monthly, serves as the council of advice for the bishop, or if there is no bishop, they are the ecclesiastical authority of the diocese. Three priests and three lay persons serve for three years each (those elected in 2018 will complete their term in 2021) with one clergy and one lay member elected each year. No person may serve for more than two consecutive terms.  Members whose terms are expiring are Jane Dennis and Kevin Johnson.

sewanee Trustees

Trustee for the University of the South – one lay person. Length of term – three years (October 2019-2021). Duties include attending a trustee meeting in the fall at the University of the South at Sewanee, TN, which usually involves several weekdays, especially for a new trustee. There is an optional spring meeting. There may be some expenses related to this responsibility. The Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth is one of the owning dioceses of the University of the South and thus is represented at the primary Trustee meeting. Continuing trustees include Jill McClendon and Suzi Robertson (whose term will start in October). Suzanne Meyers’ term will expire in October 2019, just before next year’s Diocesan Convention, so we elect for that position in November of the current year, and the new trustee will start the following October.

Disciplinary Board

Disciplinary Board – one clergy and one lay member. One clergy member and one lay member will be elected for three-year terms (expiring 2021).  The Disciplinary Board meets as needed when called by the bishop. Those whose terms are expiring are Barbara Evans-Chowning and Scot McComas.


In all cases, a nominee must

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Meet qualifications to hold office nominated
  • Be willing to stand for election and willing to serve if elected
  • Acknowledge fiduciary duty under The Episcopal Church Canon I.17.8:  “Any person accepting any office in this Church shall well and faithfully perform the duties of that office in accordance with the Constitution and Canons of this Church and of the Diocese in which the office is being exercised.”
  • Pledge to read the Constitution & Canons of The Episcopal Church and to give faithful performance to duties in accordance with the same
  • Be willing to perform the duties of elected office (i.e., attend all meetings, share responsibility of work, etc.)
  • Provide a brief bio (150 word limit) and a head shot photo
  • Verify membership in the diocese by the following:
    • Laity – Adult communicant in good standing of a parish within the Diocese of Fort Worth, for approximately one year
    • Clergy – Canonically resident in the Diocese of Fort Worth

Nominate Someone

Online nominations are now closed.

Nominations after September 10

Any nominations after the closing date of Monday, September 10, 2018 may be made from the floor at diocesan convention. Nominations from the floor will follow all the requirements for candidates, including sufficient copies of the nominees’ picture and biographical information for all clergy and convention delegates, plus verification of qualifications. The requirements for nominations from the floor of convention appear in Canon I. “Nominations from the Floor,” in the Canons of the Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth, found on the committee’s page, here.

Other Positions

In addition, the following individual positions are nominated by the bishop and confirmed by the convention.

  • Diocesan Secretary and Assistant to the Secretary
  • Diocesan Registrar
  • Diocesan Historiographer
  • Diocesan Treasurer and Assistant to the Treasurer
  • Diocesan Chancellor
  • Corporation Trustee
  • Episcopate endowment trustee

Groups which welcome new members each year, appointed by the bishop include:

  • Commission on Ministry
  • Finance Committee
  • Diocesan Schools Commission
  • Constitution and Canons Committee

If you would like to volunteer in these areas and potentially make yourself available for a future nomination, please email the nominations committee at to let them know of your interest, in case the bishop needs recommendations.

For more information on nominations, please email